What I Do Have

Doing without is not the popular option these days. Bigger is better, they say. And most people seem to be pursuing after that American dream that includes those bigger and better things. But at what cost? Are those bigger and better things always best?

If you are a stay-at-home mom like me, you can likely relate with us and the things we don’t have. We don’t own a house. Yes, we really would like to. But at this time financially we aren’t able to do so. We have one vehicle. And it’s not brand new or very cool. It’s a minivan. We don’t have a boat. We don’t have cable. We don’t have a big screen tv or a blue ray player. We don’t have the newest cell phones or have internet on our phones. We  rarely eat out at fancy restaurants, and we don’t take expensive family vacations. We shop at thrift stores and garage sales, scour the ads on Craig’s List, and love hand-me-downs.

And to many in the world that list of “don’t have’s” might seem down right depressing. And to be honest, if I looked at it from the perspective of the world, then perhaps I also would see it as depressing. Instead I look at what I do have.

I have two beautiful little boys, with another on the way,  that I get to spend every day with. They have never been to daycare. I have been there for every first, every special moment, and been apart of every new discovery. I don’t have to worry about maternity leave, or getting a day off work for dentist appointments. I get to focus on them, not on an outside job. I get to make home cooked meals for my family each night, and we all sit down together to eat them. We do everything together. We can spend the day reading books, playing at the park, and making cookies. I have the opportunity to be with them, to teach them, to shape and influence them more than any other person on earth. I have the privilege of showing them that they are gifts from God, and more important to us that anything else in this world.

It is our choice that I stay home and care for our boys. And it is a choice we know God delights in. It is what He has called me to do, and I want to do it with a happy heart. Yes, there are days that “doing without” can be frustrating. But those are the days that I have neglected to keep my focus on what is truly important. So if you, like me, are a homemaker living on one income, keep that precious calling in focus. It’s not what we don’t have, it’s what we do have that really matters.

1 Comment

  1. Natalie Ross said,

    July 14, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    What a great post, April! Being a stay at home Mom truly is a blessing.
    I never thought about it being a calling, but it truly is. Once I held Noah for the very first time, I knew that was it. My purpose was to take care of Rick and him. What a blessing it is to be a Wife and Mom. Especially a Momma who can be with her babies all the time. I loved this post. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

