March and April Book Reviews

“The Coupon Mom’s Guide to Cutting Your Grocery Bills in Half” by Stephanie Nelson

The Coupon Mom's Guide to Cutting Your Grocery Bills in Half: The Strategic Shopping Method Proven to Slash Food and Drugstore Costs

If you have been reading this blog for any length of time you already know that I love couponing, finding ways to be frugal, and snagging a great deal! This book was really fun for me to read as it was all about those things. Since I already do most of the things she talked about it this book, I wasn’t able to “cut my grocery bill in half”, but I was able to come away with a few  ideas and ways to help in my quest for frugality. There is always room to improvement, and that was my reasoning for reading this book. And I am glad I did.

This would be a great book for someone who is wanting to learn about couponing or has just started on the frugal journey. She puts alot of helpful information and thoughts in one place.

I am glad to now have this book on my shelf and hope to be able to lend it out often.

“Recovering Biblical Manhood and Womanhood”

Recovering Biblical Manhood and Womanhood: A Response to Evangelical Feminism

When I put this book on my reading list I was not aware of what I had ahead of me. This was quite a hefty book to get through, all 422 pages of it! Certainly it was well worth the time and effort. This was an excellent read. I admit to growing weary in a few of the more technical and weighty chapters, and even skimming  through portions here and there. Even the editors themsleves say it is a book more for reference than for reading cover to cover. But reading it cover to cover was certainly a great benefit. I would say the goal of this book was to refute, from Scripture, feminism in it’s many forms, as well as lay out a biblical pattern for women in the family and church. I believe it accomplishes that goal. I now have a greater appreciation for and understanding of  the wonderful plan God has given for manhood and womanhood in the Scriptures.

We borrowed this copy from friends, but I fully intend to purchase it for our shelf. You should too.

“Praise Her in the Gates: The Calling of Christian Motherhood” by Nancy Wilson

Praise Her in the Gates: The Calling of Christian Motherhood

This is the first book that I have ready by Nancy Wilson, and I eagerly look forward to reading more from her. This book was great. She lays out the great and noble tasks and responsibilites of a mother in a practical and straightforward way. As a mother of two boys I especially appreciated her chapter “Respecting Sons”.

With less than a hundred pages of reading this is a quick and easy read with big benefit.

2 Comments

  1. Jamie said,

    May 10, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Oh I need the coupon book! Better yet, could you just shop for me?

    • morepreciousthangold said,

      May 10, 2010 at 8:57 am

      I think the cost of shipping groceries to MI would negate any money I would save you with deals and coupons. 🙂


Leave a Reply

