Phew! This is hard work!

When I had just one child, I had a bountiful supply of patience. I was very rarely frustrated or “at the end of my rope”.  Every moment of those early days of motherhood were sublime. Now, with two very active little boys, I find my supply of patience is not always so plentiful. What’s that saying? “Twice the children, ten times the work!” 🙂 Don’t get me wrong, I love being a mother and consider it the greatest job on earth. But some days now I find I have  to pray a little harder for patience and joy in my mothering. Any of you mother’s go through that  at times?  How often I fail to remember that every moment of the day I spend with my boys (yes, even those moments I am breaking up fights and sweeping up cracker crumbs!) is a precious gift from God.

I found a great article here written by a mother about the way we speak to our children. It was a good reminder to speak with love and encouragment to my boys even during those frustrating days.  I also have been reading the Shepherd Press Blog, which is chock full of great articles on biblical parenting. This one  was an especially great read. 

Being a mother is a very high calling. I am reminded daily that I can not do it in my own power, but that I need the Lord’s wisdom and strength. That through the lives of my children God may recieve more glory.

4 Comments

  1. Coffee and Kids said,

    July 22, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    I know how you feel! Going from one child to two was insane! I would never change it for the world, and it’s a total blessing, I agree. At times when I feel like I’m going to have a breakdown, I look at their little faces and remind myself of how lucky I am to have these two babies. God Bless.

  2. Tascha said,

    July 23, 2009 at 7:08 am

    Trust me, you are not the only mom to ever feel this way… 😀 Living on the edge of insanity some days… I just pray for a gentle spirit to lead me through the day – and help make sure supper is ready when Hubby gets home 😀 I have a friend who has not ever carried a baby for more than 9 weeks – and she has been married for 10 years now… when I feel like selling the kids – I think of her and remember how privileged and blessed I am to even have given birth to them…
    Praying this day is a wonderful “Mommy memory day” 😀 with no fights or crushed crackers!!

  3. Lisa Gutierrez said,

    August 1, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    *sigh* UM YES I know what you are talking about! Especially these days when I have so much to do with a teeny weeny addition, and the boys of course are FULL of energy, wanting to be out doing things that I can’t do right now… I’m checking out that blog. 🙂

  4. nmkkdk07 said,

    March 10, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Very well put!


Leave a Reply

