A Blessing and a Lesson

Today I went grocery shopping. While at Aldi’s Isaac saw a jar of peanuts and asked if he could have it. I said “no” and continued checking over my list. He got my attention again and pointed at the jar of peanuts and asked once more if we could buy it. I simply said, “Not this week Isaac, we have alot to buy this week. Maybe next time we can get you peanuts.” He accepted it sweetly and said no more. I didn’t like telling him no, because I know how much he loved peanuts but I knew it wouldn’t fit in the grocery budget this week. He had finished his jar several weeks ago, and had asked for them frequently since. During this whole conversation there was a lady next to us in the aisle also shopping.

Fast forward to the check out…just as I finished checking out the lady that had overhead the “peanut conversation” came up to me with the very jar of peanuts Isaac had asked for. She asked if it would be okay if she gave them to Isaac. She said she had overhead our conversation and seen how sweetly he had reacted, and wanted to buy them for him. Of course I said he could have them! And he was so thrilled and thankful!

That very simple act of kindness was such a blessing to me. It was such a small thing, but so big to us! I wasn’t able to give my son what he wanted, but God did! I was also able to use it as a lesson about kindness for Isaac. We talked about it all the way home, and thanked God for that kind lady who gave us peanuts!

2 Comments

  1. sarah said,

    November 29, 2008 at 9:10 am

    That is the sweetest thing. Our local Christian radio station did Pay it Forward Thursdays in November. It was so cool to hear people call in… Those giving were excited. Those receiving overwhelmed and touched. One guy even got “paid for” twice. He called in completely choked up. It was a cool thing. I’m glad you and Isaac got to experience it.

  2. Loretta said,

    December 2, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    It is those “little things” that really reminds me that I am on God’s mind. It is so amazing how He shows me every day in the special encouragement that a fellow teacher gives or that smile from one of my students. Thanks for sharing this wonderful proof of God’s ever present care. I hope you have this recorded for Isaac.


Leave a Reply

