The blessings are extra sweet on “these” kind of days…

Today was not my day. It started out after breakfast with cottage cheese all over – all over the fridge, all over the floor, all over me. So of course this led to clean up which took away valuable “get ready for church” time. Then after church we had a couple come to our house to get some boxes from us, but we couldn’t find our house key…after much searching we finally found it. I go in the house to make lunch (which was supposed to be in the crock pot, but wasn’t because I ran out of time after cleaning the cottage cheese out of my hair…), and find that my ground beef in the fridge was frozen. Why? I have no idea, but it was frozen. So, my sweet husband, offered to take us to Taco Bell instead. It was just one of those days were everything seems to go wrong.

BUT, even in the midst of my “Series of Unfortunate Events” type of day, the Lord gave us several blessings. So I thought I would share the blessings with you…

First, we had 30 people in church this morning! This is a good number for us, usually we run closer to 20-25. Four were first time visitors! This was exciting!

Secondly, a lady in the church brought in some books she had finished reading and wanted to pass them on to the rest of us at church. So I was able to get several, and look forward to some new reading in the coming weeks!

Thirdly, one of the older ladies in our church brought each of my boys a beautiful afghan this morning that she had crocheted for them. I thought that was really sweet.

Fourthly, my boys are a blessing. Tonight before church, because we were there quite early, Isaac pulled a chair up behind the podium so that he could “lead singing and preach.” He kept saying, “Okay, here’s the deal, I’m going to preach…” He would wave his arms and sing just like he was leading the singing. As people arrived at church they were getting a kick out of him. He was really adorable (see the picture at the end of this post). And Hudson was sitting on my lap watching Isaac and grinning at him the whole time. What a blessing it is to see my boys enjoy church!

And the last blessing that I will mention (since I do have numerous more blessings when I stop and consider!!!) is the blessing of fellowship. We had a lady from our church over tonight for dinner and some fellowship. She is very sweet, she is my age, but sadly, she and her husband are moving away! Her husband actually already is gone working his new job and she is still here until their house closes next week. So we had her over after church tonight….and we had such a nice time of fellowship.

So even though my morning consisted of some mishaps, I still have far more blessings to thank the Lord for!

2 Comments

  1. Linda E. said,

    October 29, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Isn’t amazing how an “off” day can in the end bring so many blessings. It is so good to hear from you all and see the pictures of the kids and your family. Sounds like you all are well and happy….love, Aunt Linda

  2. Grammy Pam said,

    November 12, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Yes – I’m actually on your blog! Who’d thunk!

    My boys look wonderful, but it would be so nice to touch them!!!

    Kiss them for me and don’t let them forget us.!

    Love you!


Leave a Reply

