“May I have some help me?”

We have been teaching Isaac how to ask for things in a polite way. Most often it is when he is asking for more juice, he would just bring us his cup and say “Mama, more juice.” Sometimes he would add please on the end if he remembered. So we have been teaching him to say “May I have some more juice, please?” and he has been doing quite well with it. Often he will still forget and we will say “Isaac, ask the right way, please.”, then he will say “May I have some more juice, please?” We want him to ask for everything in a polite way, not just juice, but he doesn’t always get the right wording. For instance, last night as we were preparing to leave for kindergarten graduation at church, Isaac was having a difficult time putting his own shoes on. I heard him yell out to Adam, “Daddy, help me!” and Adam responded with, “Isaac, how are you supposed to ask?” Isaac promptly replied, “May I have some help me?”

At least he has the right idea. 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Lisa Gutierrez said,

    May 25, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    And I say, at least he can speak in complete sentences! 🙂 Gabriel just asked me, “Tang fruh nehr?” No idea….

  2. Sarah said,

    May 27, 2008 at 11:13 am

    You know… both of my kids said “me” instead of please. I wonder if that’s what they hear? Amara still says “Uppie” for “up please” — it’s what she’s always said and has just never bothered to change it, even though she’s now perfectly capable of saying “please.” Aren’t manners wonderful? 🙂


Leave a Reply

