“Shall he not much more clothe you…”

 And why take ye thought for raiment? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they toil not, neither do they spin:  And yet I say unto you, That even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Wherefore, if God so clothe the grass of the field, which to day is, and to morrow is cast into the oven, shall he not much more clothe you, O ye of little faith?

Matthew 6:28-30

When I got out the boys summer clothes a while ago, I found that Isaac didn’t have even one pair of shorts for this summer, and Hudson had only a few. So, this Saturday my mom and I went to the Salvation Army in Battle Creek for their Saturday night 49 cent sale. All clothing with the “color” of the week tags are 49 cents after 5 pm. I had just a few dollars and prayed that the Lord would allow me to find at least a few things for each boy.

When my mom and I got there we immediately headed for the shorts racks looking for Hudson’s and Isaac’s sizes. I found several that I liked, but only one or two that were the color of the week. I was trying to decide if I wanted to pay $2.99 for a particular pair of shorts that I really liked, when a lady also looking at shorts said, “Did you know that ALL shorts are 49 cents tonight? It’s the managers special.”

When I left the store that night I had nine pairs of shorts for Isaac, five pairs for Hudson, and a wonderful reminder that our Lord cares for our every need!

1 Comment

  1. futurefaith said,

    May 6, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Thank you for taking the time to show that God cares to work for our benefit even in the smallest things.


Leave a Reply

