Reading List for 2010

I have been inspired by MoneySavingMom and FishMama’s blog posts about their reading goals for this year. I love to read, but in the busy day-to-day life of mothering two small boys I tend to push reading to the back burner. This year with some prioritizing and better scheduling, I am setting some reading goals for myself. I am aiming a bit high, and know that I may not finish all twenty-two books on my list….but I certainly am praying the Lord will allow me to.

This is my reading list for the year :

January: “Love and Respect”

February: “Memories of Sanfields” and “For God and His People”

March: “Recovering Biblical Manhood and Womanhood” and “The Coupon Mom’s Guide to cutting your grocery bills in half”

April: “Women’s Ministry in the Local Church” and “Praise Her in the Gates”

May: “The Fruit of Her Hands” and “Seeing and Savoring Jesus Christ

June: “Escape” and “Treasuring God in our Traditions”

July:”Becoming A Woman Who Pleases God” and “Survivor: A Women’s Search for Peace”

August: “Lee: A Life of Virtue” and “Heaven at Home”

September: “Feminine Appeal” and “Notes From the Tilt-A-Whirl”

October: “Stepping Heavenward” and “Spiritual Mothering”

November: “The Truth of the Cross” and “The True Woman”

December: “On This Day in Christian History

I also do enjoy reading christian fiction at times. There are some days I like to read something that doesn’t require me to think and consider but is purely for enjoyment. I am sure that there will be some fiction sprinkled in here and there during the year as the fancy strikes me. But my main focus will be to try and accomplish this list. I have linked each book title to Amazon so you can see exactly what book it is and purchase it for yourself if you desire. I am quite excited about this list of books!

At the end of each month I plan to let you know if I was able to finish the books for that month and write a short review for each book.

Do you have a reading goal for this year? Be sure to share in the comments. If you are blogging about your reading goals, please leave a link to your post in the comments also. It would be great to encourage one another through the year!

 Now get off the computer and go read a book! :)

4 Comments

  1. tascha piatt said,

    January 27, 2010 at 7:54 am

    thanks for the inspiration – i may make a list myself…

  2. Heather said,

    January 29, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    I think that’s a great idea! Would you like to do a sort of book club and read through those together? That way we can be accountable!

  3. momofmany said,

    February 3, 2010 at 9:22 am

    I can lend you the Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin if you don’t have it. I’m reading Annals of a Quiet Neighborhood by George MacDonald (1867). Jacob just finished it for school. It’s really good.

  4. January 14, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    […] 2010 I posted my year-long reading schedule and posted reviews as I finished each book. I am a list maker and a planner, so this was helpful to […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

